Fruitport District Library Board of Directors Meeting January 16, 2019

The regular meeting was called to order by chair Rose Dillon at 5:39 p.m. Present were Joshua Datte, Marjorie Stonecypher, new trustee Ruth Woodward, and Mary Weimer. Trustee Laura Oldt joined us by phone. Library Director Adam DeWitt was also present. (Trustee Woodard left the meeting at 6:06 p.m.)

Reports

The library director reported great success with the Candyland program the library had, during Christmas break, with many requesting that the library repeat the offering again. Many items were officially added to the collection which had been donated previously. Changes to the library's Facebook page have resulted in increased usage and an increase in the number of "likes" received. The director met with other area library directors to discuss collaborating on a grant to provide a service that would benefit all members of Muskegon County.

The secretary's report from the December meeting was provided and accepted by Chairman Dillon.

The treasurer reported income of \$412.81; withdrawals in the amount of \$12,668.55; and savings account interest of \$4.18. The Master Card balance was \$602.47. Chairman accepted the treasurer's report as presented.

Motion by Mary Weimer, seconded by Laura Oldt, to pay bills in the amount of \$14, 873.00. Motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.

Old Business

A maintenance worker position opening will be posted on the library's website, Facebook and Fruitport Informed.

Motion by Rose Dillon, seconded by Mary Weimer, to amend to incrase the director's contract salary by \$850.00 per month. The auditor informed us that the library can't reimburse employees for health insurance costs. It was recommended to increase director's wage to compensate for that expense. Ayes: Dillon Nays: Stonecypher, Oldt, Datte, Weimer Motion failed.

Motion by Marjorie Stonecypher, seconded by Laura Oldt, to increase the director's wage to \$800.00 per month. Ayes: Dillon, Stonecypher, Oldt Nays: Datte, Weimer. Motion carried.

New Business

Election of officers: President, Rose Dillon; Vice President, Marjorie Stonecypher; Treasurer, Joshua Datte; Secretary, Mary Weimer.

Meeting adjourned at 6:43 p.m.

Mary Weimer Secretary